a FIRE(y) note…

fire

Just as I was settling down for the final two weeks of the semester, I received a very pleasant surprise in my inbox.  A little while back, I sent an application to attend the annual Campus Freedom Network Conference hosted by the Foundation for Individual Rights in Education (FIRE).  I suppose my essay went over well enough, since they extended a very pleasant invitation to me.  During July, I will have a very good excuse to visit up north again, as the conference will be held at Bryn Mawr College up in Philly!  I have long been a fan of this truly non-partisan advocacy group.  You may have noticed the link on my page.  Their main focus is first amendment issues on college campuses.

As I have mentioned previously in regards to PTK, I very much want my college experience to be the antithesis of the educational experience of my youth.  Being engaged and involved, as time permits, is a particular part of that desire.  I have enjoyed being involved with PTK, and look forward to continuing that involvement, but this seemed like an opportunity to expand my involvement with a group whose work I respect.  That and…  Well, it never hurts to have an excuse to visit family along the way.  When you don’t have the money to go on many trips, this sort of thing does appeal to one’s sense of economy.

In any case, I am certainly looking forward to attending the conference, listening to the speakers, and meeting fellow students from around the country with a similar interest.  Speaking of conferences, I can’t wait to go to my first scientific conference!  I already spend enough time reading research papers for the pleasure of it.  I can’t wait to hear about someone’s research directly from them!  Whatever anyone else might think, I believe that would be much more fun than merely reading the paper.  I know, it sounds strange to many; but as much as I love hockey, I read significantly more scientific papers and articles than hockey news.  That also reminds me that I should write a blurb about our recent PTK trip to D.C..  Had a great time!  In the meantime, back to studying.  It’s going to be a fairly long couple of weeks here!

Leave a Reply

